Dorset County Council includes 6 districts - West Dorset, North Dorset, East Dorset, Weymouth & Portland, Purbeck and Christchurch. It also has the two unitary city authorities of Poole and Bournemouth.

There are seven parliamentary constituencies: Bournemouth East, Bournemouth West and Poole which do not exactly match the city boundaries, and West Dorset, South Dorset, Mid Dorset & North Poole, North Dorset, and Christchurch.

The area is covered by three local green parties